Festival O/Modernt: A Winter's Journey

Mark Padmore, Kristian Bezuidenhout
{{ message.content }}

Schubert's highly emotional, soul-searching Winterreise is a key work in the romantic lieder tradition. We follow the narrator on an emotionally dramatic and grueling journey, passing through deep depression, overwhelming joy and total despair. Mark Padmore and Kristian Bezuidenhout recorded the Winterreise in 2018 – a performance full of profound impressions. Padmore retreats behind the score, but this only makes his performance all the more moving. His voice is up to the challenge of the work's emotional extremes. Bezuidenhout performs his sensitive accompaniment on a historic fortepiano – a major musical event, live at the O/Modernt Festival.


A production of the Festival O/Modernt.

If you would like to become an O/Modernt friend and/or support O/Modernt with a one-off donation, please click here.

Live Stream
recorded at 06/12/2021, 08:00pm (CEST)
A Winter's Journey
A Winter's Journey: Festival O/Modernt
Try takt1 Premium now with 14 days of full access, completely free. Including more than 2,000 concerts / operas and all of our exclusive live streams.
Go to
Franz Schubert: Winterreise, Op. 89 D. 911
  • I. Good Night
  • II. The Weathervane
  • III. Frozen Tears
  • IV. Frozen
  • V. The Linden Tree
  • VI. Flood
  • VII. On the Stream
  • VIII. Backwards Glance
  • IX. Will o' the Wisp
  • X. Rest
  • XI. Dream of Spring
  • XII. Loneliness
  • XIII. The Post
  • XIV. The Gray Head
  • XV. The Crow
  • XVI. Last Hope
  • XVII. In the Village
  • XVIII. The Stormy Morning
  • XIX. Deception
  • XX. The Signpost
  • XXI. The Inn
  • XXII. Have Courage!
  • XXIII. The Sun Dogs
  • XXIV. The Hurdy-Gurdy Man