Konzerthaus Dortmund

Šerkšnytė, Haydn and Beethoven

Kian Soltani, Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla
{{ message.content }}

After our exclusive concerts from the empty hall at Konzerthaus Dortmund, things are slowly going back to normal: Concerts with an orchestra and audience can finally take place again, in accordance with certain requirements, of course. This re-opening concert is conducted by an exclusive artist of Konzerthaus Dortmund, Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla. Meaningfully, she will lift the concert out of the depth – De Profundis. The work was compopsed by her compatriot Raminta Šerkšnytė in 1998. Music which begins in silence only to return back to it, in a more hopeful and confident way. Afterwards, Haydn’s First Cello Concerto, rediscovered in 1961. Music on the verge of late baroque and the First Viennese Classic, elegant and with a small ensemble. On the cello, the „Junge Wilde“ („Young Wild One“) Kian Soltani. Then, in the second half, Beethoven’s Fourth Symphony, the maybe least brooding, most lighthearted and hopeful. Beethoven was in love, and if we choose to see it in this music, then probably right at the beginning: Energetically, the Allegro grows out of a passionate Adagio prelude. Rarely has the master sounded more exuberant, and that is exactly what we need during this special time.


Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla and Kian Soltani appear by kind permission of Deutschen Grammophon.

Live Stream
recorded at 06/07/2020, 07:00pm (CEST)
Try takt1 Premium now with 7 days of full access, completely free. Including more than 2,000 concerts / operas and all of our exclusive live streams.
Go to
Raminta Šerkšnytė: De Profundis for string orchestra
  • Raminta Šerkšnytė: De Profundis für Streichorchester
Joseph Haydn: Concerto for violoncello and orchestra C major Hob. VIIb:1
  • I. Moderato
  • II. Adagio
  • III. Allegro molto
Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 4 in B flat major op. 60
  • I. Adagio - Allegro Vivace
  • II. Adagio
  • III. Menuetto Trio
  • IV. Allegro ma non troppo
This cookie table has been created and updated by the CookieFirst consent management platform.