Beethoven, Andreo Gázquez, Dean & Brahms

Hugo Ticciati, Johannes Marmén, Barry Douglas, Bart van de Roer, Brett Dean, Bryony Gibson-Cornish Julian Arp, Claude Frochaux
{{ message.content }}

The program for this chamber music concert combines two classics with two new works, perfectly reflecting the festival's name. The Celan Pieces for cello and piano by Francisco J. Andreo, which sets three poems by Paul Celan to music; and Brett Dean's Imaginary Ballet for piano and string trio, featuring the composer himself on the viola. Both works celebrate their Swedish premieres. These contemporary works are framed by two behemoths of classical chamber music – Beethoven's Ghost Trio and Brahm's Piano Quintet


A production of the Festival O/Modernt.

If you would like to become an O/Modernt friend and/or support O/Modernt with a one-off donation, please click here.

Live Stream
06/14/2021, 07:00pm (CEST)
Try takt1 Premium now with 14 days of full access, completely free. Including more than 2,000 concerts / operas and all of our exclusive live streams.
Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Trio D major Op. 70,1 »Ghost Trio«

I. Allegro vivace e con brio

II. Largo assai ed espressivo

III. Presto

Francisco Jose Andreo Gázquez: Celan Pieces for Cello & Piano (Swedish Premiere)

I. Und sie gruben

II. Lob der Ferne

III. Mandorla

Brett Dean: Imaginary Ballet – Dances and Interludes for Piano and String Trio (Swedish Premiere) 

I. Caprice

II. Obsessions

III. Interlude I - (Un)Quiet

IV. Skittish

V. Interlude II - Chorale (Donnington Park in the Dark)

VI. Interlude III - Elegy (for John Curro)

VII. Shadow Dance

VIII. Stretto Dance

IX. Postlude (Exeunt)

Johannes Brahms: Piano Quintet F minor Op. 34

I. Allegro non troppo

II. Andante, un poco Adagio

III. Scherzo. Allegro

IV. Finale. Poco sostenuto - Allegro nono troppo - Presto, non troppo