Cookies and social networks improve the use of this website. By using it, you agree to the use of these technologies.
More info

Liszt: Piano Concerto No. 2 and the "Faust" Symphony

The Gewandhaus Orchestra under Antonio Pappano, with Seong-Jin Cho and Brenden Gunnell
{{ message.content }}

Franz Liszt's Piano Concerto no. 2 presents the soloist with some extreme challenges. Several passages are almost impossible to master, and the music's mood changes frequently. It also requires real perspective and sensitivity to maintain the tension that gradually builds up throughout the work. This tension is extremely important – without it, the individual sections, which flow together like a single movement, would fall apart. In the "Faust" Symphony, Liszt sketches musical portraits of the characters Faust, Gretchen and Mephistopheles. The first movement is key, as its motifs show up in different forms in the following movements. In the second, it appears as Gretchen's obsession with Faust grows increasingly strong; in the third, Mephistopheles toys ironically with the Faust motif, exaggerating and distorting it. 


Antonio Pappano appears by the kind permission of Erato/Warner Classics.

Seong-Jin Cho appears by the kind permission of Deutsche Grammphon Gesellschaft.

Live Stream
04/24/2020, 08:00pm (CEST)
The Gewandhaus Orchestra under Antonio Pappano, with Seong-Jin Cho
Try takt1 Premium now with 7 days of full access, completely free. Including more than 2,000 concerts / operas and all of our exclusive live streams.
Franz Liszt: Piano Concerto No. 2 A major
Franz Liszt: A Faust Symphony in Three Character Pictures

I. FaustII. GretchenIII. Mephistopheles