Cookies and social networks improve the use of this website. By using it, you agree to the use of these technologies.
More info
Gewandhaus zu Leipzig

Mozart, Debussy & Strawinsky

Andris Nelsons, Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra & Martin Helmchen
{{ message.content }}

A grand opening to the new season at the Leipzig Gewandhaus: Andris Nelsons, the Gewandhaus kapellmeister since 2018, conducts a delicately balanced program. With his seventeenth piano concerto, Mozart consolidated his new approach to the form: solo-like passages from the wind section, and in the third movement, harmonic structures that anticipate romanticism; and a finale that takes on almost operatic dimensions. Mozart begins to assert his individuality. It is followed by Debussy's wonderfully oceanic La Mer, a series of symphonic sketches with relentlessly compelling themes. It is a painterly work, though that's not to say that it's program music. Rather, Debussy set out to capture the ocean in music in a work abounding with energy and powerful rhythms. The concert closes with Stravinsky's trailblazing music for the ballet The Firebird: pure magic.  


Andris Nelsons appears with the kind permission of Deutsche Grammophon.

Live Stream
09/01/2019, 05:00am (EDT)
Try takt1 Premium now with 10 days of full access, completely free. Including more than 2,300 concerts / operas and all of our exclusive live streams.
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 17 G major K. 453

I. Allegro

II. Andante

III. Allegretto, Presto

Claude Debussy: La Mer – Trois esquisses symphoniques

I. De l’aube à midi sur la mer – très lentII. Jeux de vagues – allegroIII. Dialogue du vent et de la mer – animé et tumultueux

Igor Stravinsky: The Firebird (Suite, 1919 Version)