Sir Simon Rattle, London Symphony Orchestra

Berlioz, Kidane, Ravel, Sibelius, Bartók
{{ message.content }}

Sir Simon Rattle is always looking for intelligent connections, unexpected auditory experiences and enlightening moments. This certainly applies to this carefully balanced program of works, tailor-made like a well-fitting suit. A series of highly contrasting works are brought into dialogue, beginning with Berlioz' breakneck overture to Le Corsaire, followed by a work by composer Daniel Kidane commissioned by the LSO in 2022: Sun Poem. Also on the program: Ravel's skewed Viennese waltz La Valse, and the Concert Suite op. 19 from Bartók's Miraculous Mandarin. At the center of the program is Jean Sibelius' Seventh Symphony, which he himself described as a "symphonic fantasy", and which holds a special place in Rattle's heart – even if it is rarely performed on the concert circuit. 

A co-production of the Grafenegg Festival and takt1.
Live Stream
08/26/2022, 07:15pm (CEST)
Enjoy it free at takt1
Want to see more?
Hector Berlioz: 
Overture "Le Corsaire" Op.21
Daniel Kidane: 
Sun Poem
Maurice Ravel: "La Valse" Poème choréographiqueJean Sibelius: Symphony No. 7 Op. 105

Béla Bartók: "The Miraculous Mandarin" Concert Suite Op. 19