Cookies and social networks improve the use of this website. By using it, you agree to the use of these technologies.
More info
Gürzenich-Orchester Köln

Bach, Srnka, Bruckner

The Gürzenich Orchestra under F.X. Roth
{{ message.content }}

A beginning that was well ahead of its time. In his first symphony, Anton Bruckner was already looking forward into a distant future. The opening of the first movement could easily have been written by Mahler, and is soon followed by passages that resemble Bruckner's later work. The forms he uses resemble building blocks of the kind his fellow organist Bach used in his 3rd Brandenburg Concerto. The harpsichord – which Bach saw merely as an "accompaniment instrument" – stands in the foreground in Miroslav Srnka's new work. He composed the work for a soloist "whose music making and very being resonate just as much the pieces he plays". A concert about what went unfulfilled in the past, and promises for the future. All led by the Gürzenich's chief conductor François-Xavier Roth, with his highly infectious sense of curiosity.


Live Stream
06/23/2020, 08:00pm (CEST)
Enjoy it free at takt1
Johann Sebastian Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No.3 G major BWV 1048

I. Allegro

II. Adagio

III. Allegro

Miroslav Srnka: New Work for Cembalo and Orchestra. 
Anton Bruckner: Sinfonie No. 1 C minor WAB 101 "Linz Version"

I. Allegro 

II. Adagio. Andante. Tempo I 

III. Scherzo: Schnell. Trio. Langsamer. Scherzo. Coda 

IV. Finale: Bewegt, feurig