Cookies and social networks improve the use of this website. By using it, you agree to the use of these technologies.
More info
Konzerthaus Dortmund

Bruch: Violin Concerto, Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5

Janine Jansen, Gianandrea Noseda, London Symphony Orchestra
{{ message.content }}

You can't help but feel a little sorry for him: although the composer Max Bruch went on to write two further violin concertos which he considered superior, it was the first that was always performed during his lifetime and beyond. The elegiac melodies are simply wonderful, while the free flow of thoughts in the first movement unfold like a fantasy. When it's played well, this classic can sound just as thrilling as it must have done at the premiere. – Tchaikovsky deemed his great Fifth to be a failure. To modern listeners, this seems unthinkable; compared to the thunderous forth, it seems to be in a whole other league. A dramatic fate motif recurs throughout the work, giving us a taster of the unfathomable drama of the composer's later works.  

Janine Jansen appears by the kind permission of Decca Classics.

Live Stream
12/01/2019, 12:00pm (EST)
Try takt1 Premium now with 10 days of full access, completely free. Including more than 2,300 concerts / operas and all of our exclusive live streams.
Max Bruch: Violin Concerto No. 1 G minor op. 26

I. Introduktion: Allegro moderato

II. Adagio

III. Finale: Allegro energico

Pjotr Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5 E minor op. 64

I. Andante - Allegro con anima

II. Andante cantabile, con alcuna licenza - Moderato con anima

III. Walzer: Allegro moderato

IV. Finale: Andante maestoso - Allegro vivace