Cookies and social networks improve the use of this website. By using it, you agree to the use of these technologies.
More info
London Symphony Orchestra

Elgar, Bartók & Polevaya

London Symphony Orchestra, François-Xavier Roth & Alisa Weilerstein
{{ message.content }}

These two works were composed at the same point in time, yet their respective musical languages could hardly be more different: Elgar's Cello Concerto and Bartók's The Miraculous Mandarin. Conductor François-Xavier Roth sums up the tension between these two extreme poles: 'the post-Romanticism of Elgar combined with Bartók's scary, strange, erotic, disturbing work.' The LSO has a long history with Elgar's Cello Concerto: in 1919, it was the London orchestra who performed the premiere of the work. This is frenetic, intense, and occasionally even brutal music – an audacious work that proved to be a real challenge for contemporary audiences. The evening begins with the premiere of a new work by composer Sophya Polevaya. Her Spellbound Tableaux promises to be a real thriller – after all, it's named after a Hitchcock film. 


In cooperation with LSO Live.

Live Stream
12/19/2019, 02:30pm (EST)
Try takt1 Premium now with 10 days of full access, completely free. Including more than 2,300 concerts / operas and all of our exclusive live streams.
Sophya Polevaya: Spellbound Tableaux (World Premiere)
Edward Elgar: Cello Concerto E-minor op. 85

I. Adagio - Moderato

II. Lento - Allegro molto

III. Adagio

IV. Allegro - Moderato - Allegro, ma non-troppo

Béla Bartók: The Miraculous Mandarin Sz. 73