Czech Philharmonic Orchestra

The Czech Phil: Live in Your Living Room II

Manfred Honeck, Rudolf Buchbinder & Czech Philharmonic
{{ message.content }}

The Czech Philharmonic's second Advent concert, this time conducted by Manfred Honeck at the Prague Rudolfinum. Excerpts from Griegs popular music for »Peer Gynt« open the program. It is followed by Mozart's Piano Concerto in D minor no. 20 with Rudolf Buchbinder – a turning point in the history of the genre. It is considered to be Mozart's first symphonic piano concerto, the point at which his music takes on a personal dimension. The dramatic way the independent orchestral passages alternate with the piano is almost romantic. The famous second movement with its melodic, straightforward beauty seems to bring time to a standstill. It's a development which points the way towards Beethoven, whose first symphony brings this concert to a close.


Rudolf Buchbinder appears by kind permission of the Deutsche Grammophon Gesellschaft

A production from Czech Philharmonic in cooperation with EuroArts.

Live Stream
recorded at 12/06/2020, 08:15pm (CET)
Try takt1 Premium now with 14 days of full access, completely free. Including more than 2,000 concerts / operas and all of our exclusive live streams.
Go to
Edvard Grieg: Four Movements from Peer Gynt
  • I. Morning Mood
  • II. Solveig's Song
  • III. Anitra's Dance
  • IV. In the Hall of the Mountain King
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 20 D minor K. 466
  • I. Allegro
  • II. Romanze
  • III. Allegro assai
  • Interview with Manfred Honeck
Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 1 C major op. 21
  • I. Adagio molto – Allegro con brio
  • II. Andante cantabile con moto
  • III. Menuetto (Allegro molto e vivace)
  • IV. Adagio – Allegro molto e vivace