Johann Sebastian Bach, Ludwig van Beethoven, Max Bruch & Frédéric Chopin

Martha Argerich & Mischa Maisky
{{ message.content }}

It's no exaggeration to refer to Martha Argerich and Mischa Maisky as living legends. Both individually and in unison, they have enriched the world of music with their concerts and recordings. At the Lausitz Festival, they begin by appearing separately, filling the Görlitz Synagogue with the radiant beauty of Johann Sebastian Bach's intimate solo music. It's the first time since 1938 that music has been performed in the art-deco building, which survived Kristallnacht. It is followed by Beethoven's two-movement Cello Sonata no. 2 in G minor, before Maisky plays the Jewish prayer Kol Nidrei by Max Bruch, accompanied by Argerich. The concert comes to a dreamy conclusion with the largo from Frédéric Chopin's Cello Sonata in G minor


This concert was recorded on October 13th 2020.

Live Stream
recorded at 04/30/2021, 08:00pm (CEST)
Enjoy it free at takt1
Want to see more?
Go to
Johann Sebastian Bach: Suite for Violoncello solo No. 1 in G major BWV 1007
  • I. Prélude
  • II. Allemande
  • III. Courante
  • IV. Sarabande
  • V. Menuett
  • VI. Gigue
Johann Sebastian Bach: Partita No. 2 C minor BWV 826
  • I. Sinfonia
  • II. Allemande
  • III. Courante
  • IV. Sarabande
  • V. Rondeau
  • VI. Capriccio
Ludwig van Beethoven: Cello Sonata No. 2 G minor Op. 5,2
  • I. Adagio sostenuto ed espressivo – Allegro molto più tosto presto
  • II. Rondo: Allegro
Max Bruch: Kol Nidrei Op. 47
  • Kol Nidrei
Frédéric Chopin: Cello Sonata G minor Op. 65
  • III. Largo