Wiener Konzerthaus

Metselaar, Korngold & Strauss: "Vorfreude", Songs & "Ein Heldenleben"

Andrés Orozco-Estrada, Christiane Karg, The Vienna Symphony
{{ message.content }}

A new chapter begins for the Vienna Symphony: with this concert, Andrés Orozco-Estrada makes his debut as their new chief conductor. Full of energy, elegancy and esprit, he leads the way through a festive program, beginning with the premiere of a commission from Dutch composer Carlijn Metselaar, appropriately entitled a "Fanfare". This is followed by sumptuous orchestral lieder by Erich Wolfgang Korngold, works that carry the flowery perfumed scent of the early 20th century, sung here by Christiane Karg. Finally, in the second part comes Richard Strauss' great Heldenleben or "Hero's Life". The title was almost certainly a reference to Strauss himself, whether meant ironically or not. With his tone poems, the young Strauss established himself as the most brilliant representative of modern German music of the end of the 19th century. An evening of magnificent music. 


Live Stream
recorded at 10/10/2020, 07:30pm (CEST)
Go to
Carlijn Metselaar: Vorfreude. Fanfare
  • Commissioned by the Vienna Symphony
Erich Wolfgang Korngold: Lieder
  • Schneeglöckchen op. 9/1 from »Einfache Lieder«
  • Das Ständchen op. 9/3 from »Einfache Lieder«
  • Liebesbriefchen op. 9/4 from »Einfache Lieder«
  • Sommer op. 9/6 from »Einfache Lieder«
  • Glück, das mir verblieb – Lied der Marietta from »Die tote Stadt op. 12«
  • Interview with Christiane Karg
  • Interview with Andrés Orozco-Estrada
Richard Strauss: Ein Heldenleben. Tondichtung für großes Orchester op. 40
  • I. Der Held
  • II. Des Helden Widersacher
  • III. Des Helden Gefährtin
  • IV. Des Helden Walstatt
  • V. Des Helden Friedenswerke
  • VI. Des Helden Weltflucht und Vollendung