Cookies and social networks improve the use of this website. By using it, you agree to the use of these technologies.
More info
Konzerthaus Dortmund

Tchaikovsky's 1st Piano Concerto, Brahm's 3rd Symphony and Šerkšnytė's "De Profundis"

Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla, Gabriela Montero and The City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra
{{ message.content }}

From the depths – Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla opens this concert with "De Profundis". The work was composed by her fellow Lithuanian Raminta Šerkšnytė in 1998. It's music which emerges from out of the silence before returning to it at the end, yet with an added sense of hope and optimism. It is followed by Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto performed by Gabriela Montero. With its imposing opening, it contrasts strongly with the first work, making it seem all the most imposing. Finally, after the interval comes Brahm's Third. This work sees Gražinytė-Tyla and the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra look back furthest into the musical past – fitting for a work which Brahms used to position himself within the tradition of classical symphonic music. 


Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla appears by the kind permission of Deutsche Grammophon Gesellschaft.

Live Stream
03/21/2020, 08:00pm (CET)
Try takt1 Premium now with 7 days of full access, completely free. Including more than 2,000 concerts / operas and all of our exclusive live streams.
Raminta Šerkšnytė: De Profundis for String Orchestra
Pjotr Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1 B minor op. 23

I. Allegro non troppo e molto maestoso - Allegro con spirito

II. Andantino semplice

III. Allegro con fuoco

Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 3 F major op. 90

I. Allegro con brio

II. Andante

III. Poco Allegretto

IV. Allegro