Bizet/Shchedrin: Carmen Suite, Weinberg: Symphony No. 2

Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla, London Symphony Orchestra
{{ message.content }}

Weinberg's second symphony envelops the listener in harmony, only for subtle yet sudden dissonances to erupt. It will be thrilling to see what the LSO makes of this musical balancing act under conductor Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla. The second work of the evening is a truly bold composition. Shchedrin's wife was a prima ballerina at the Bolshoi Theater, and this music radiates a sense of tender affection – both for Bizet's popular work as well as for the art of dance itself. With its delicate movements and dynamic motifs, it immediately calls to mind dizzying pirouettes.  


In cooperation with LSO Live.

Live Stream
12/17/2020, 08:00pm (CET)
Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla, London Symphony Orchestra: Shchedrin & Weinberg
Try takt1 Premium now with 14 days of full access, completely free. Including more than 2,000 concerts / operas and all of our exclusive live streams.
Rodion Konstantinovich Shchedrin: Carmen-Suite

I. Introduction

II. Dance

III. Intermezzo No. 1

IV. Changing of the Guard

V. Carmen's Entrance and Habanera

VI. Intermezzo No. 2

VII. Bolero

VIII. Torero

IX. Torero and Carmen

X. Adagio

XI. Fortune Telling

XII. Finale

Mieczysław Weinberg: Symphony No. 2 for Strings Op. 30

I. Allegro moderato

II. Adagio

III. Allegretto