Philharmonie, Luxembourg

Ravel's "Tzigane", Bruckner's Fourth and a New Concerto

Gustavo Gimeno, Patricia Kopatchinskaja & Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg
{{ message.content }}

Patricia Kopatchinskaja is not a fan of routine. Her interpretations focus on drawing out the friction and the deeper meaning in the music. She becomes one with the work, letting go and feeling her way through the music. It's not always about beautiful tone – she isn't afraid of scratching and scraping at the strings, giving the music an edgy raw sound. In the breakneck solo passages at the beginning of Ravel's Tzigane, Kopatchinskaja gets the chance to demonstrate her extravagant technique. This is followed by a new violin concerto by Spanish composer Francisco Coll, a work which combines strong rhythms, Spanish idiom and elements of modernism. In the second part comes Bruckner's sumptuous Romantic, a fulminant and heroic symphony. 

Live Stream
recorded at 02/13/2020, 08:00pm (CET)
Try takt1 Premium now with 7 days of full access, completely free. Including more than 2,000 concerts / operas and all of our exclusive live streams.
Go to
Francisco Coll: Violin Concerto
  • I. Atomised
  • II. Hyperhymnia
Maurice Ravel: Tzigane. Rhapsody for Violin and Orchestra
  • Maurice Ravel: Tzigane. Rhapsody for Violin and Orchestra
  • Francisco Coll: LalulaLied
  • Interview with Francisco Coll
  • Interview with Patricia Kopatchinskaja
  • Interview with Gustavo Gimeno
Anton Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 E-flat major, "Romantic"
  • I. Bewegt, nicht zu schnell
  • II. Andante quasi Allegretto
  • III. Scherzo: Bewegt. Trio: Nicht zu schnell, keinesfalls schleppend
  • IV. Finale: Bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell
This cookie table has been created and updated by the CookieFirst consent management platform.