Cookies and social networks improve the use of this website. By using it, you agree to the use of these technologies.
More info
Konzerthaus Dortmund

Schumann, Bruckner and Takemitsu

Paavo Järvi, Sol Gabetta and the NHK Symphony
{{ message.content }}

From intimate and restrained to weighty and intoxicating, this is a concert program full of contradictions. Following Takemitsu's sensuous landscape painting, Sol Gabetta takes the lead in Robert Schumann's Cello Concerto. Written in just two weeks, Schumann's concerto gradually moves from its irreal beginning towards freedom, closing with a final Rondo. Meanwhile, there are no contradictions to be found in Bruckner's Seventh. The composer's biggest success in his own lifetime, it features his signature extensively worked-out themes and an organ-like separation of registers in the orchestra. Perhaps the elegiac tone is the common thread running through this program. 

Sol Gabetta appears by the kind permission of Sony Classical.

Live Stream
02/29/2020, 08:00pm (CET)
Live from the Konzerthaus Dortmund
Sol Gabetta, Paavo Järvi & The NHK Symphony
Try takt1 Premium now with 7 days of full access, completely free. Including more than 2,000 concerts / operas and all of our exclusive live streams.
Toru Takemitsu: How Slow the Wind
Robert Schumann: Cello Concerto A minor op. 129

I. Nicht zu schnell 

II. Langsam 

III. Sehr lebhaft

Anton Bruckner: Symphony No. 7 E major WAB 107

I. Allegro moderato

II. Adagio. Sehr feierlich und sehr langsam

III. Scherzo. Sehr schnell - Trio. Etwas langsamer

IV. Finale. Bewegt, doch nicht schnell