Czech Philharmonic Orchestra

The Czech Phil: Live in Your Living Room IV

Masaryk, Hofbauer, Špaček, Tschechische Philharmonie & Netopil
{{ message.content }}

The final part of the the Czech Philharmonic's pre-Christmas concert series, LIVE from the Prague Rudolfinum. The evening gets off to a festive start with the two solo trumpets of Pavel Josef Vejvanovský's Sonata Vespertina. Vejvanovský was a 17th century Moravian composer and trumpeter. His music was shaped by his acquaintance with Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber, and he drew on both the Viennese and the Venetian baroque traditions. In the first movement of Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy's beloved Violin Concerto in E minor, the violin comes in molto appassionato, with a lot of passion. The solo part will be played by the concertmaster of the Czech Philharmonie, Josef Špaček. The evening closes with a milestone in Czech national music: Antonín Dvořák's Symphony no. 6 in D major.


A production from Czech Philharmonic in cooperation with EuroArts.

Live Stream
recorded at 12/20/2020, 08:15pm (CET)
Try takt1 Premium now with 14 days of full access, completely free. Including more than 2,000 concerts / operas and all of our exclusive live streams.
Go to
Pavel Josef Vejvanovský: Sonata Vespertina
  • Pavel Josef Vejvanovský: Sonata Vespertina
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Violin concerto E minor op. 64
  • I. Allegro molto appassionato
  • II. Andante
  • III. Allegretto non troppo – Allegro molto vivace
  • Interview with Josef Špaček & Tomáš Netopil
Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 6 D major op. 60
  • I. Allegro non tanto
  • II. Adagio
  • III. Scherzo. Furiant
  • IV. Finale. Allegro con spirito