Modest Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition

Piano Recital with Yulianna Avdeeva
{{ message.content }}

Modest Mussorgsky's monumental walk through the art exhibition of his deceased friend Viktor Hartmann is at the center of this piano recital with Yulianna Avdeeva. The different stops translate colors and shapes of the paintings into music, but above all what the art triggers inside the viewer: Emotions, memories, phantasms. The work has inspired many composers to make orchestral versions; for pianists, however, this is a difficult score. Yulianna Avdeeva, master of transitions, maneuvers precisely through the energetic breaks and changes in mood, and she tells the stories she hears in the reflections. In 2010, Avdeeva was only the fourth woman to win the Chopin Competition. In March 2020, she launched the streaming project #AvdeevaBachProject in which she discusses a prelude and a fugue from Bach's Well-Tempered Clavier on a weekly basis, and links them to related works and themes.

Live performed on June 13, 2019.

Live Stream
recorded at 07/10/2021, 08:00pm (CEST)
Go to
Modest Mussorgsky: Bilder einer Ausstellung (1874)
  • Promenade
  • I. Gnomus
  • II. Il Vecchio Castello
  • III. Les Tuileries
  • IV. Bydlo, Promenade
  • V. Dance of Chickens in their Shells
  • VI. Samuel Goldenberg and Schmuyle, Promenade
  • VII. The Market at Limoges
  • VIII. Catacombe, Cum Mortuis in Lingua Mortua
  • IX. Baba-Yaga
  • X. The Great Gate of Kiev
Pjotr Iljitsch Tschaikowsky: Meditation op. 72/5
  • Meditation op. 72/5